HOMEODOT 100Moments in HistoryFebruary
Contact ODOT 100

Moments in History

In February, 1944, the Highway Commission authorized the Department to employ four traveling mechanics to inspect all highway equipment in the state and make minor repairs.

On February 1, 1920, R. C. Terrell became the fourth Chief Engineer of the Highway Department

On February 1, 1921, B. E. Clark became the fifth Highway Commissioner

On February 1, 1961, Frank Lyons took office as Director of the Department of Highways.

On February 2, 1926, a contract was awarded to build a second bridge over the Red River, south of Davidson. At the time it was the longest highway bridge in the state at 5,423 ft.

On February 2, 1944, H. E. Bailey became the 16th Chief Engineer of the Highway Department

On February 2, 1953, the Highway Commission designated US-66 from Lincoln Boulevard. to SH 74 then to N.W. 39th Street. A total distance of 4.9 miles.

On February 2, 1953, the Highway Commission approved the proposed 1953 Concrete and Bituminous Program for the amount of $3,261,650

On February 2, 1981, the Transportation Commission designated SH-3 between the State Capitol in Oklahoma City and the Colorado State Line north of Boise City as the Northwest Passage.

On February 3, 1986, the Transportation Commission approved the designation of SH 33G between SH 33 and SH 69A in northeastern Oklahoma.

On February 4, 1985, V. O. Bradley was named the Interim Director and later Director after Gov. Nigh asked the Legislature to drop the requirement that the Director be an engineer.

On February 6, 1983, it was announced that the Department’s employee newspaper won first place as the best internal publication at AASHTO Public Affairs Workshop in San Antonio.

On February 7, 1939, the Commission approved the designation of SH 44A from the junction SH-44 north to Quartz Mountain State Park.

On February 7, 1955, the Commission approved the designation of SH 51C from the junction of SH 51 north to Lake Carl Blackwell.

On February 7, 2000, the new Sailboat Bridge over Grand Lake was completed and reopened to traffic.

On February 8, 1963, the I-40 project from 1/2 mile east of Douglas Boulevard in Midwest City and extending southeast 5 miles into Oklahoma City completed.

On February 10, 1951, C. A. Stoldt became the second Department of Highways Director following an announcement by Gov. Murray.

On February 11, 1941, L. S. Robson replaced H. E. Bailey as State Highway Commissioner.

On February 12, 1985, the Oklahoma Senate approved a resolution naming the Transportation Department Building in Oklahoma City, the Richard A. Ward Building.

On February 13, 1933, Senate Bill 55 was signed expanding the number of Highway Commissioners from three to four. L. V. Orton was then named a Commissioner.

On February 14, 1934, the Department of Highways laboratory building was destroyed by a fire. A new laboratory building was built at 23rd Street and Walnut Avenue.

On February 15, 1960, a 5-mile, I-40 project to pave from US-281 to east of the Caddo-Canadian County line was completed for $668,000.

On February 16, 1983, Gov. Nigh asked the Transportation Commission to plan a four-year comprehensive road program for the spending of new federal money.

On February 17, 1924, Gov. Trapp declared to the Legislature that he would abolish the highway department unless they passed a bill to give it sufficient money to match incoming federal aid funding

On February 17, 1958, the Highway Commission approved the designation of SH 48C from Sasakwa north via Wewoka and Cromwell to the junction of SH 48 south of Castle.

On February 17, 1958, the Highway Commission adopted a resolution requesting the U.S. Congress amend the Federal Aid Highway Act to provide for consistent Interstate funding.

On February 18, 1993, John F. Crowley was named the 6th State Transportation Director.

On February 19, 1957, the Highway Commission awarded projects to pave US-77 from Goldsby east 7 miles in McClain Co. and build 3 bridges on the US-66 Bypass in Tulsa.

On February 20, 1970, the final segment of I-35 near Wynnewood opened, marking the completion of I-35 in Oklahoma from the Kansas to the Texas border.

On February 21, 1933, H. N. Arnold, L. B. Selman and Ed McDonald began their terms as Highway Commissioners.

On February 21, 1986, the final two contracts to complete four-laning US-69 from Big Cabin south to the Red River were awarded.

On February 23, 2004, ODOT received the American Road & Transportation Builders Association “PRIDE Award” for the Webbers Falls Memorial Dedication events.

On February 24, 1937, the Highway Commission approved SH 36A. Designation from the junction of SH 36 west to Cameron College in Lawton.

On February 25, 1964, the SH-28 project to pave 5 miles of roadway between the Will Rogers Turnpike and Adair. Was completed in Mayes County.

On February 26, 1916, House Bill-43 was passed requiring county commissioner’s building permanent state roads and bridges to request the Highway Commissioner to designate a highway engineer to consult with.

On February 27, 2003, the SH-99 project to widen the 5 miles of the roadway from 2 to 4 lines near Seminole completed.

On February 28, 1985, Transportation Department Director Richard D. Ward retired from the Department.

On February 28, 2003, Phil Tomlinson was named as the 5th Secretary of Transportation.

On February 29, 1987, the northbound lanes of US 81 north of Okarche were flooded and pumps were brought in to clear the roadway and prevent further damage to the roadway.

On February 30, 1928, the third free bridge over the Red River was opened to traffic near Burkburnett, Texas.

HOMEODOT 100Moments in HistoryFebruary