Appendix 7: Solicitation Letter

May 19, 2004

FIELD(Name)
FIELD(Company)
FIELD(Address)
FIELD(City State Zip)

Dear FIELD(greeting):

The Oklahoma Department of Transportation is soliciting comments on a study to improve US-70 in McCurtain County (see the attached map). The study corridor begins approximately 6.4 miles east of the junction of SH-3 in Broken Bow and extends east to the Oklahoma/Arkansas state line. This project is in the developmental stages and any comments relative to the social, economic, or environmental effects of this proposal will be appreciated.

US-70 is currently a two-lane roadway with shoulders. This segment of roadway is classified as inadequate on the Oklahoma Department of Transportation Highway Sufficiency Rating Map. The Department proposes to add 2 new parallel lanes and resurface the existing lanes through this segment of roadway.

The project is in the early stages of development and any comments relative to the corridor or items previously listed would be appreciated. To allow for adequate time for evaluation of your suggestions, we would appreciate receiving your comments within fifteen days of this letter. Your written comments should be directed to the Planning & Research Division Engineer, Oklahoma Department of Transportation, 200 Northeast 21st Street, Oklahoma City, OK 73105.

We sincerely appreciate your cooperation in this matter. ODOT has contracted with Carter & Burgess, Inc. on this project. For further information or if you have any questions, please contact Ms. Stephanie Hansen at Carter & Burgess (405-810-8254 or hansensa@c-b.com) or ODOT's Project Manager, Ms. Gwen Christie (405-521-2535 or gchristie@ODOT.org).

Sincerely,

Dawn Sullivan, P.E. Planning & Research Division Engineer

DRS/qc:sah

Attachment: Location Map

U.S. 70 Study - McCurtain County Beech Creek National Scenic And Botanical Area CLAYTON LEFLORE State Highway 144 --- RailRoad Federal Lands State Highway 4 Citys Lakes **PUSHMATAHA** Counties ... Broken Bow Lake Text Pine Creek Lake Main Project Description Project Location McCurtain U.S. 70 - McCurtain County From 6.4 miles east of Jct. U.S. 70 and S.H. 3 in Broken Bow easterly to the Arkansas State Line. State Highway 3 The scope of work for the U.S. 70 corridor includes Hugo Lake WRIGHT CITY 1. Environmental Studies ARKANSAS u.S. 70 2. Hydraulic an Hydrology Analysis CHOCTAW 3. Geometric Study 4. Traffic Analysis VALLIANT, Eagletown FT. TOWSON MILLERTON BROKEN BOW SAWYER Little River Nelfons Wildlife Refuge State Highway 37 Project Located in McCurtain County TEXAS -10 20 Miles

Mr. James Allard
Bureau of Reclamation
Oklahoma/ Kansas Office
''49 Highline Boulevard, Ste. 200
Jahoma City, OK 73108-2097

, 6

Mr. Jerry Brabander U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service 222 South Houston, Ste. A Tulsa, OK 74127

Ms. Margaret M. Graham Department of Environmental Quality PO BOX 1677 Oklahoma City, OK 73101-1677

Mr. Mike Thralls Oklahoma Conservation Commission 2800 North Lincoln Blvd., Ste. 160 Oklahoma City, OK 73105

Ms. Sandy Garrett State Board of Education 2500 North Lincoln Blvd., Ste. 112 Oklahoma City, OK 73105

Ms. Mary Lou Drywater Bureau of Land Management 221 North Service Road Moore, OK 73160-4946

Mr. David Manning Tulsa District Corps of Engineers 1645 South 101 East Avenue Tulsa, OK 74128-4629 Attention: Regulatory Section

Mr. Ed Schellenberger National Park Service PO BOX 728 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-0728

Mr. Dan B. Overland
Oklahoma Transportation Commission
200 N.E. 21st Street
Oklahoma City, OK 73105

Mark Musser rate of Oklahoma Governor's Public Affairs Office Oklahoma City, OK 71305 Ms. Jeanette Hanna Bureau of Indian Affairs 101 North 5th Street Muskogee, OK 74401

Mr. Glen Sekavec Department of the Interior PO BOX 649 Albuquerque, New Mexico 87103

Mr. Greg Duffy Department of Wildlife Conservation PO BOX 53465 Oklahoma City, OK 73152

Dr. Charles J. Mankin Oklahoma Geological Survey 100 East Boyd, Rm. N-131 Norman, OK 73019-0628

Mr. Dennis Howard Department of Agriculture PO BOX 528804 Oklahoma City, OK 73152-8804

Mr. Philip Keasling Bureau of Land Management 221 North Service Road Moore, OK 73160-4946

Mr. David Manning Tulsa District Corps of Engineers 1645 South 101 East Avenue Tulsa, OK 74128-4629 Attention: Planning Section

Dr. Bob Blackburn Oklahoma Historical Society 2101 North Lincoln Blvd. Oklahoma City, OK 73105-4915

Mr. Victor N. Bird OK Aeronautics Commission 3700 North Classen Blvd., Ste. 240 Oklahoma City, OK 73118

Mr. Gary Ridley Oklahoma Department of Transportation 200 N.E. 21st Street Oklahoma City, OK 73105 Southwest Regional Environmental Officer U.S. Department of the Interior PO BOX 728 Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504-0728

Mr. Michael Schmidt Oklahoma Corporation Commission Jim Thorpe Building 2101 North Lincoln Blvd. Oklahoma City, OK 73105

Mr. Ken Morris Oklahoma Water Resources Board 3800 North Classen Oklahoma City, OK 73118

Dr. Robert Brooks University of Oklahoma 11 East Chesapeake, Bldg. 134 Norman, OK 73019-0575

Ms. Kristina S. Marek
OK Tourism and Recreation Department
The Concord Building
15 North Robinson Ave., Ste. 100
Oklahoma City, OK 73102-5403

Mr. David Manning Tulsa District Corps of Engineers 1645 South 101 East Avenue Tulsa, OK 74128-4629 Attention: Environmental Analysis Section

Colonel Timothy Sanford Tulsa District Corps of Engineers 1645 South 101 East Avenue Tulsa, OK 74128-4629

Mr. Walter Kudzia Federal Highway Administration 300 North Meridian, Rm. 105S Oklahoma City, OK 73107-6560

Mr. Doug Riebel OTA 4401 W. Memorial Rd, Ste. 130 Oklahoma City, OK 73134

Executive Director Oklahoma Department of Commerce PO BOX 26980 Oklahoma City, OK 73126 The Honorable Brad Carson 321 South 3rd Street, Ste. 4

Mr. Chester Dennis Kiamichi Economic Development District PO BOX 638 Wilburton, OK 74578

Mr. Jimmy O'Donnell City of Broken bow 210 North Broadway Broken Bow, OK 74728

Mr. Jeff Rabon United States Senate District 5 2300 North Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 421 Oklahoma City, OK 73105-4808

McCurtain County Board of Commissioners PO BOX 1078 Idabel, OK 74745

Mr. Jim Freeny PO BOX 1078 Idabel, OK 74745

Chief Greg Pyle Choctaw Nation PO Drawer 1210 Durrant, OK 74701

Mr. Merritt Youngdeer Bureau of Indian Affairs Muskogee Area Office United States Courthouse, Rm. 311 Muskogee, OK 74401 The Honorable James Inhofe United States Senate 1924 South Utica, Ste. 530 Tulsa, OK 74101

Mr. Larry Bachman City of Broken Bow 210 North Broadway Broken Bow, OK 74728

Mr. Ray Burris City of Broken Bow 210 North Broadway Broken Bow, OK 74728

Mr. Jerry Ellis State Capital 2300 North Lincoln Blvd., Rm. 300 Oklahoma City, OK 73105-4808

Mr. Jimmy Westbrook PO BOX 1078 Idabel, OK 74745

District Conservationist Idabel Field Service Center 201 N. Central Ave., Rm. 124 Idabel, OK 74745-3831

Mr. Gary McAdams Wichita Tribe PO BOX 729 Anadarko, OK 73005

Mr. Jerry Don Smith City of Broken Bow 210 North Broadway Broken Bow, OK 74728 The Honorable Don Nickles United States Senate 1820 Liberty Towers Oklahoma City, OK 73102

Mr. Mark Guthrie City of Broken Bow 210 North Broadway Broken Bow, OK 74728

Ms. Charity O'Donnell Broken Bow Chambers of Commerce 113 West Martin Luther King Broken Bow, OK 74728

Mr. Edward H. Fite, III Oklahoma Scenic Rivers Commission PO BOX 292 Tahlequah, OK 74464

Mr. Aubrey Thompson PO BOX 1078 Idabel, OK 74745

Vernon Hunter Caddo Tribe PO BOX 487 Binger, OK 73009

Mr. L.W.Collier, Jr. Bureau of Indian Affairs Anadarko Area Office United States Courthouse Anadarko, OK 73005